Academy, Ballarat wins at 2024 Secretary’s Marrung Awards

  • Article

Congratulations to Paul Nolan and the Ballarat regional centre team for their win at the Secretary's Marrung Awards in Melbourne yesterday!

We also send our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners at yesterday's awards.

Yesterday at an awards ceremony in Melbourne, the winners of the Secretary's Marrung Awards 2024 were announced in each of the following categories:

Positive Climate for Learning

Eron Chapman, Principal Gowrie Street Primary School Shepparton
Vera Harold, Koorie Education Officer, SEV – Inner Gippsland – Koorie Education

Community Engagement

Paul Nolan, Manager, Ballarat Regional Centre, Academy – Regional Sites, SWVR 
Group – Goulburn Area Koorie Education Workforce

Professional Leadership 

Group – 'Marrung in WSW – ‘Everyone’s Business’ 
Ilona Rose-Sliwa, Koorie Education Coordinator, SWV – Barwon Planning & Implementation

Aboriginal Community Leadership 

Richard Fry, Koorie Education Officer, SWV – Barwon – Koorie Education 
Ashlee Luttrell, Education Support, Charles La Trobe P-12 College – The Pavilion Campus – Preston East

The Academy’s Ballarat team led a collaborative effort between indigenous and non-indigenous students from Forest Street PS and Beaufort SC, under the guidance of Wadawurrung artist Macaylah Johnson and Koorie Education Coordinator, to develop an Acknowledgement of Country and accompanied art work that has been installed the Ballarat centre courtyard.

The impact of their work will be felt in many ways across the spectrum of teaching and learning as well as make the Academy Ballarat Centre a more inclusive and safe space for learning.

Paul Nolan and the Ballarat regional centre team at the Secretary's Marrung Awards 2024
Paul Nolan and the Ballarat regional centre team with Secretary Jenny Atta and Rachel Crellin at the 2024 Marrung Awards
Last updated 07 June 2024