Academy board 

The Academy is governed by a board that includes members from the government, Catholic and Independent school sectors. 

The Academy’s strategic direction is set by the board and is outlined in our strategic plan on a page.

The board balances governance expertise, school education and community interests to support the Academy to meet the diverse professional learning needs of Victorian educators.

The board has both advisory and decision-making responsibilities and is directly accountable to the Minister for Education for the performance of the Academy’s functions.

The Academy's chief executive officer is responsible to the board for all policy and operational matters, and to the Secretary of the Department of Education for budgetary, personnel and other administrative matters.

Read the board's Statement of Commitment to First Nations Peoples Self-Determination.

Dr Toni Meath


Dr Toni Meath

Dr Toni Meath GAICD FACEL is principal of Melbourne Girls Grammar. She is an accomplished leader with deep knowledge of the Victorian education sector. Dr Meath’s work in education innovation has been published nationally and internationally. Previously Dr Meath was principal of the Mac.Robertson Girls’ High School and the founding assistant principal of Nossal High School, Victoria’s first co-educational select entry high school.

Until her appointment as the inaugural chair of the Academy board, Dr Meath was a member of the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority board.

Kieren Noonan

Kieren Noonan

Head of Innovation and Learning and a member of the executive at Independent Schools Victoria, Mr Kieren Noonan is an innovative education professional with extensive experience working in educational leadership and strategically delivering innovative products, solutions and initiatives. 

Mr Noonan is skilled in education leadership and management, training delivery, process management and product and service design. He has extensive experience as a teacher, principal and education executive across sectors in both Victoria and South Australia.

Mr Noonan is the nominee of Independent Schools Victoria.

Judith Downes

Judith Downes

Ms Judith Downes has worked in senior executive and non-executive roles in banking, finance, accounting, funds management, life insurance and property, and has over 25 years’ experience as a company director.

Previously, she worked in senior executive and non-executive roles at ANZ including chief financial officer and chief operating officer of the Institutional Division. She was director of the Australian Mathematical Science Institute and a member of the Financial Reporting Council.  Prior to working as an accountant, Ms Downes taught secondary mathematics.

Ms Downes is currently the chair of Bank Australia and a non-executive director for ImpediMed, as well as the chair of the Academy’s Audit and Risk Committee.

Professor Viv Ellis

Professor Viv Ellis is dean of the Faculty of Education at Monash University. He is also a professor in the faculty and a global expert on teacher education. He has worked with government agencies and nongovernment organisations across the UK, Europe, Asia and Australia, most recently on the Norwegian government’s reforms to upper primary/lower secondary initial teacher education.

Prior to his work at Monash, Professor Ellis was the founding co-director of the Centre for Innovation in Teacher Education and Development, a strategic partnership between King’s College London and Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, where he currently holds an honorary research professorship. Before working in universities, Professor Ellis was a secondary school teacher; he has held senior leadership roles in schools, subject teaching associations and universities.

Terri Lee-Fitzpatrick

Ms Lee -Fitzpatrick is a Yawuru Jarndu, Yawuru woman from Rubibi/Broome, Western Australia, and has been based in Melbourne for over 20 years. She has more than 30 years’ experience in education. 

Ms Lee-Fitzpatrick has been a teacher at Thornbury Primary School for 21 years. She has expertise in literacy, and has led the Woiwurrung language and cultural program for 6 years. Thornbury Primary School was awarded the 2019 Victorian Education Excellence Award for Outstanding Koorie Education.

Ms Lee-Fitzpatrick is a sought-after adviser and contributor to professional learning programs and resources, including recent Koorie English Online modules.

Dr David Howes

Dr David Howes

Dr David Howes is the Deputy Secretary, Schools and Regional Services at the Department of Education. Prior to this, Dr Howes was chief executive officer of the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority.

Dr Howes began his career as a teacher in the western suburbs of Melbourne, where he worked for 10 years as a teacher and in a range of school leadership roles. He has since held a number of positions, both in Victoria and overseas, including working as an educational adviser to the Royal Government of Cambodia between 2003 and 2006.

Dr Howes is the nominee of the Department of Education.

Last updated 31 July 2023